In the Community

<< Return

Glenn Armentor Receives America’s Greatest Honor for Public Service - Monday, July 14, 2014

Glenn Armentor returned from Washington, D.C. where he was awarded the 2014 Jefferson Award for Public Service for outstanding community activism throughout Acadiana.

Notable past winners include 5 Supreme Court Justices including Sandra Day O’Connor and Thurgood Marshall; seven Secretaries of State including Colin Powell and Cyrus Vance; three First Ladies - Barbara Bush, Rosalynn Carter and Betty Ford; as well as Oprah Winfrey and Ken Burns.

The Lafayette lawyer received the honor for establishing the Glenn Armentor ten thousand dollar "Pay-It-Forward Scholarship Program of Excellence”. The celebration was a three-day event, held in June in Washington, D.C.

Selection for the prestigious award came from a committee of community leaders, and the Glenn Armentor Law Corporation bore witness to the surprise announcement from Lafayette City-Parish President Joey Durel and local news crew, KLFY.

The "Pay-It-Forward” Scholarship is awarded annually to at-risk young men or women, as well as in-need adults facing exceptional hardship who display the spirit, work ethic and character that is deserving of a chance for a better future, through college. The scholarships are awarded by an independent panel of community leaders based on a combination of attributes including: student performance, drive, ability, need and desire to seek a college degree and more. To date, Mr. Armentor has awarded 21 scholarships.

Jefferson Awards were founded in 1972 as America’s greatest honor for public service. Over forty-one years, the Jefferson Awards has recognized and inspired a Who’s Who of American change makers as well as tens of thousands of local unsung heroes doing great works in local communities.


© Copyright 2019, The Glenn Armentor Law Corporation, Lafayette, LA. All rights reserved.